I've hit a strange milestone on this blog - this is my 666th post. This number has a strange and scary history. And even though I'm a wee bit superstitious, I must face it head-on. It's not as if I can just skip over from #665 to #667.
Anyway, it's just a number. Like 4. Or 13. And nobody's afraid of them! Right?
To mark my hexakosioihexekontahexaphilic post, I decided to whip somethin' quick-n-evil. I originally had an entire dinner planned, but with the rising cost of food and all (watch for more stuff about shoppin' at the dollar store!), and with all the food still waiting to be eaten in my fridge, it didn't seem prudent.
I didn't have any of my own recipes, so I looked around for one. I did the Google thing for any "evil", "deviled", "demonic" or "unholy" foods. Some fascinating finds included:
- shrimp fra diavolo, of course. Giada De Laurentiis's recipe from the Food Network sounds more simple than it looks.
- any "deviled" food. Actually, "deviled" just means "highly spiced, usually referring to fried or boiled foods" (the source of that info can be found here). The most interesting of these dishes that I could find was "deviled green beans", including soy and Worchestershire sauces. This one also requires brown sugar.
- anything that is not kosher got consideration - because it's just not kosher to not eat kosher! Same thing for anything that is haram (the Islamic version of "not kosher"). There is some overlap (no pork, for instance), and there are some glaring differences (Jews can drink certain kosher wines, while Muslims can't drink alcohol at all; cheeseburgers aren't kosher, but are fine if the animal was killed according to halal laws; cheese is always kosher but sometimes halal; shellfish ain't kosher, but it sure is halal; etc; etc). I got a headache and figured something I was eating along the way would break at least one of the kosher and halal dietary laws along the way (shrimp fra diavolo with a tasty glass of wine). Sadly, finding something that Christians or even Hindus would consider verboten - outside of Lent anyway - was a bit more difficult. Christians will eat just about anything. And though many Hindus are vegetarians, that only applies to some.
Specifically, devil's food cake.
Apparently, devil's food cake isn't really devil's food cake unless it has the following things in it:
- melted, as opposed to merely powdered, chocolate; and
- butter, not oil, not shortening, definitely not margarine - butter.
- I added 1 1/3 cups of water, as the directions said, and three eggs, as they also said;
- But instead of 1/2 cup of vegetable oil, I added the same amount in melted butter;
- I also added an additional 4 oz of melted semisweet baking chocolate squares.